Sunday Summaries|one bloody Nike trainer, annoying lazy co-workers, a lack of motivation, joining the Thirteen Reasons Why bandwagon and one hippie beach wedding in the rain.

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading lots of blog features where people talk about their week and what they’ve been up to for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own Sunday summaries on this blog for a while now and now that I am back freezing my arse off in the UK, I fully plan to love this blog and put a lot more time and effort into it than previously. I plan to keep a weekly schedule on here for my Sunday Summaries, high lighting what I have been up to that week for any nosy sods that might happen to stumble across my little corner of the internet. Even if the only person who reads this happens to be my mum. As I wrote on my previous Sunday Summariaries posts, once again this blog post shall be more of a wing it situation and we’ll see where I can go from here.

Also I apologise for the slow updates, not only on my Sunday Summaries series, but also throughout my blog in general. I have hit a slump recently and lost a bit of my mojo so the words just haven’t flown recently as well as they are capable of doing and honestly I haven’t really felt like writing much recently either, so there’s that. I have plans to go through my blog, tidy up, shorten, change and edit posts and the lay out within the next few weeks, so bare with me for the crappy, messy blog, for the time being at least.

Again I am late to the posting party, but I am going to blame a week lacking in creativity or motivation.

This week’s blog starts 5th – 11th June 2017.

This week consists of one bloody toe and a ruined pair of expensive Nike trainers, lazy co-workers, catty females, and one very beautiful, hippie beach wedding in the rain.

Gym Sessions and ab attempts.

Let’s just say I started the week with good intentions to get my arse back in the gym, I mean, I even brought my gym kit with me and lugged it around Bristol on public transport on the Sunday and Monday morning in the pissing down rain as I was just that dedicated. Sadly though I only managed one gym and swim session this week, instead of the three that I had started the week off so strongly hoping to manage. I partly blame the very apparent lack of motivation for anything in my life this week,  but also, because I ran on the treadmill for my usual forty minutes and soon discovered that my sore toe, had decided to bleed hard, all the way through my beautiful expensive Nike running trainers that I had bought with my first pay check in Australia and after that, did not trust it to behave again. This week (at the time of writing) is a new week and all that, yada yada yada, let’s hope I am more successful. My bestie Liv has a pretty free week this week, which makes a nice rare change, and wants to make the most of my free swimming, so we’ll see how things pan out.

Work. 

This week has been very busy, with enthusiastic all inclusive guests, keen to take advantage of their unlimited free drinks between the hours of 6-11. In fact for the last two days that I worked, I swear I collected MOST of the glasses in the restaurant, which has been knackering in all honesty. I really could have used a hand, and no I’m not complaining, I know two people were needed on the other bar, but, I am going to be honest, one co-worker in particular this week, has really done my head in as I generally feel, and have done for a while now, that she doesn’t really pull her weight. Fair enough, when she was trapped serving on the bar, whilst I was stuck on all the glasses, but to then go off and have food, or play on her phone, whilst I am stuck trying to sort out and clean a shit load of glasses, as well as serve customers, and refused to get the final few glasses for me, was a huge piss take. Especially as the day before she wouldn’t let me grab any food, and then I missed out on eating as the chefs had cleared away earlier than usual. Honestly, she’s been doing my head in and it’s making work a lot more tiring than it should be. Oh and I hate the fact that she doesn’t clear away her plate and is always leaving it for other’s to sort out, is bloody annoying. Especially as we walk through the kitchen to get to the other bar, and it’s really not hard to scrape a plate and leave it on the side. Anyway, enough of that, work has been alright, other than her laziness and my body aching from all the glasses. Hopefully work isn’t too bad this week too and I’m not left with all the glasses AGAIN. Oh and I really need to stop winking at one of the duty managers/my boss, yes he’s hot and I do have a little crush on him, but one night I kept accidentally winking at him all night and that’s just embarrassing. He occasionally winks too, but that’s definitely part of his charm and charisma, something that I definitely don’t have.

Getting out of the flunk.

Once again, I am in the flunk, which is becoming slightly boring to write. I have managed to organise and book driving lessons for the up-coming week (which is this week now at the time of writing and posting), which is exciting. I can’t wait to smash out lessons as fast as possible to get me on the road as soon as possible. I start tomorrow (Tuesday), so we shall see. I shall be keeping a record on this site of my progress, so, watch this space.
Sadly I haven’t really applied for many jobs this week, as nothing much has really come up, although I didn’t really look either, so swings and round about. I definitely could have done more I suppose. Sadly two, I also received a few rejections on other job applications, so my confidence is going down on the daily.  One day though, I will have myself that banging salary job, which is the start to hopefully a successful career, I won’t give up just yet, it will happen for me because I know that I am going to be very successful.  Hopefully this up and coming week be productive – blogging  editing, tidying, scheduling and job applying, as well as working out and getting my abs back etc. I’d also really love to do some website editing and posting this week as I have lots of ideas and stuff written down, which need editing and posting up in due course.

Catch Ups.

This week  once again I haven’t been all that sociable, by my standards anyway.

I had a nice Sunday evening, minus the end of the day with the holiday arrangements, in Bristol with my very good friends Paige, Nastassja and Craig. We had the most awesome burgers in this diner, complete with a free cocktail for Craig and I as they forgot to charge us, boom. I especially enjoyed the novelty paper bag that they put our drinks in, American style. We also enjoyed happy hour cocktails in Turtle Bay and watching most of the Ariana Grande One Love Benefit concert, which was almost as good as the real thing. I’ll ignore the fact that yes I did fail to get tickets for it. Once again fuck you Ticketmaster.

I enjoyed watching Pirates of the Caribbean Five with Abi, complete with a shitty Harvester. Seriously what the hell have Harvester done? They used to be so good. Anyway, you can’t beat Strawberry Pepsi I suppose and thank god Abi had discounts for there as I would have hated to have paid any more money for that shitty meal.

18893251_10154368458327331_3250380575095011352_n.jpg
The salad and the strawberry Pepsi were the only decent thing about that meal, shame Harvester, you used to be such a gem of a food chain. 
18951003_10154368458362331_5297003884194650928_n.jpg
Because I am cool.

But yes, great film, it was nice to see that the latest Pirates movie got their comic value and decent story lines back as the past couple of films have lacked in both and therefore have sucked compared to the first two. Both Abi and I were laughing our heads off throughout the duration of the film and Jack was as loveable and as drunk as ever. Oh and that plot twist at the end may just hurt your heart. Not bad for a dark and wet Monday, after rushing around on public transport, bleeding through your gym shoe on the treadmill, and struggling up the big hill in the pissing down rain with heavy bags, especially for £3.50. Bargain.

 

 

On the Saturday mum, dad and I went on a road trip, loaded with a shit load of layers and clothes, for a wedding in the rain on a beach. Basically a while ago, my mum asked me if I fancied attending my friend Rosie’s mum Kath’s wedding, with both her and my dad. Of course, I had completely forgotten that I would be spending most of my Saturday on a beach, hiking up and down hills and seeking shelter in a little tent thing pressed up against a shit load of other people. Luckily though, I happened to have both Saturday and Sunday off work, so I was able to attend, and honestly, it was a beautiful afternoon and totally Kath and Jason all over. It was lovely and the rain had even held off during the service on the beach. I had never been to a wedding wearing a bright pink coat before, but needless to say it was very much appreciated for warmth and dryness. Also, as mentioned I had two servings of the nicest home made paella. Beautiful day all round. It was also wonderful to catch up with a few of my childhood friends and their parents, all of whom I had known since I was very young.

DB_Kt-GXsAANN7T.jpgDB_LK0qXgAEQxGG.jpgDB_LKvNXgAAzDMW.jpgDB_K87XXsAcLg5-.jpg

DB_K8w3W0AEDN5z.jpg
Appropriate beach weather attire for England. 
DB_LK_3XsAAOZAd.jpg
Oh look it matches my coat!

DB_LVVIXYAAEC9w.jpgDB_LboLW0AA04pV.jpg

DB_LVv4XYAAVogw.jpg
It tasted SO good.

DB_Lb5tWsAIebra.jpg

DB_LhedW0AEaQJS.jpg
Aw love.
DB_LhghXcAMXoXL.jpg
To the untrained eye, this just looks like a mother and daughter trip to the beach on a Saturday afternoon in the rain…

 

 

Netflix.

This week I have finally finished Thirteen Reasons why, and honestly I get the hype, it is SO good. I started this show the other day/ week, and yes I know 1) I am very late to the party and 2) I definitely could have binged on it a lot quicker, but you know as mentioned before I have to share the TV and work it around dad’s schedule, so it takes a lot longer to get through shows.Yes I know it’s got some very strong themes of sexual assault/ suicide etc, but I really like how the show highlights some taboo areas, which should be spoken about more, and the acting is suburb. I was hooked from the very first ‘tape’. In a way, I’m sad that I have watched all ‘thirteen’ reasons why, as I was enjoying everything ravelling. It has definitely made me think about all the times I may have been the cause of someone hurting in someway, trivial or not at the time. I just hope there’s a season two now, which I would like to think there will be, as the show has been left open.

Also mum and I are still slowly making our way through Gilmore Girls season six, between my late night work shifts and mum struggling to stay awake for even one episode.

Now that I have finished Thirteen Reasons Why, I am very much open to trying a new show on Netflix this week. So far it’s looking like Teen Wolf or Once, two shows I have always wanted to watch. We shall see though, what show eventually takes my fancy.

Reading.

This week, well last week as I am late to posting up last week’s summary, I managed to finish the book that I was re-reading, or re-reading in an attempt to finally finish it, And The Mountains Echoed, which is by one of my favourite authors Khaled Hosseini. It was good, but no where near as good as his other two books though. I also read Talking As Fast As I Can, the autobiography of Lauren Graham from Gilmore Girls, which arrived from Amazon the other day. Well I finished most with the exception of the final chapter about the new series, as advised by Lauren herself, to avoid if you haven’t watched it yet, which I haven’t done. Honestly I was laughing out loud, that woman is a hilarious treasure to the entire world. I am also half way through my book, The Woman of Number 24, which although is good, and has a decent plot line, it hasn’t quite captured me yet, but it’s readable. Hopefully next week I’ll smash my way through  books again like I have been lately as I have started slowing down a bit. Saying that though, I start my driving lessons this week, which means I will have to also factor in reading up the Highway Code as I would like to be more like Hermione and less like Ron.

 

Cooking.

I have cooked for myself a little bit this week, and have been back shopping in the discount section of Waitrose again, which is always fun. I have also enjoyed trying out their discounted soups, which seem to be packed full of flavour, before and after work, as I have made an effort to make sure I stuff my face with food before work just in case I end up not eating again. I especially liked Waitrose’s new Pea and Mint soup and their pumpkin pasta, which I decided to treat myself to the other day having had my eye on it for months. I also continued with my new found favourite veggie finger wraps, which have been a top lunch idea. And I still haven’t used my new George Foreman grill yet, although I am looking forward to playing with my new toy. I have quite a few nights off work this week, and not only am I looking forward to a rare sit-down meal, but also, to actually cook and play around with recipes.

Extras.

This week I did a very adult thing and voted, which is always a weird thrill, which fizzles out as soon as you get to your local polling station. As an anti-Tori, I tactically voted for Lib Dems as they were our town’s best hope against a Tory seat. I am team Corbyn or red, not that politics interests me all that much. I know I am supposed to care as I not only a trained journalist, but a human being too, which wants fairness for everyone, but I hate the fact that the discussion of politics literally leads to passionate debating, and no one shutting up. Which is why I always groan when people bring up politics at social gatherings, because it is like opening a can of wormholes and you never hear the end of it. The way I see it, no party is absolutely perfect, and we’re all fucked anyway, but hey, with the result, at least the Tories have lost a hold on their power – about time eh! And those poor foxes will be left alone bow.

Once again, I have enjoyed picking up lots of random bargains from trips to Waitrose, including mango, strawberries, veggies etc. Oh and an even bigger bonus is, I now own a Waitrose card, which means I get free teas and coffee every time I make a purchase. It’s oddly enjoyable walking out of the store, cup in one hand, shopping bag in the other.

I enjoyed playing football down the park as usual with my nephew Will, and some random kid called Charlie in a Barcelona shirt, who also wanted to play. I felt terrible when I accidentally kicked it just that little bit too hard and winded poor little Will. He’s an absolute little cutie though, and battled on like a trooper. I now need to get him the sweets as promised. Did I mention he is one of my favourite little things in the world, he’s my little mate. Actually I love all three of my niece and nephews and it was nice to chill on the sofa on a Sunday afternoon after our trip to the park to watch The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. Little kids don’t half ask a lot of questions during films though lol.

Liverpool.

Well the 2016/17 football season ended the other week, so unsurprisingly there’s not much news at the moment and it’s still too early for any big transfers to have taken place just yet. Although Liverpool managed to allegedly get into a little trouble over approaching a Southampton player, we also signed two players and didn’t sign them the next day, which is bloody typical of Liverpool. Still it was a good statement of intent this summer and I have a good feeling that we may have a successful transfer window.

So yes, usual ending to this blog. I plan on going through my blog and tidying this rambly mess up, adding in the photos etc. So no judging for the time being. This blog is a work in progress. Also I’m off to Bristol now, so I shall be including a few updates of my afternoon/night with my besties + Craig, holiday planning and cocktail drinking at TGI’s, so watch this space.

Until next time,
Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri. xo

Leave a Reply

