Sunday Summaries|Playing in the sunshine, happy snapping, dodging old people in the pool and one sore toe.

 

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading lots of blog features where people talk about their week and what they’ve been up to for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own Sunday summaries on this blog for a while now and now that I am back freezing my arse off in the UK, I fully plan to love this blog and put a lot more time and effort into it than previously. I plan to keep a weekly schedule on here for my Sunday Summaries, high lighting what I have been up to that week for any nosy sods that might happen to stumble across my little corner of the internet. Even if the only person who reads this happens to be my mum. As I wrote on my previous Sunday Summariaries posts, once again this blog post shall be more of a wing it situation and we’ll see where I can go from here.

Also I apologise for the slow updates, not only on my Sunday Summaries series, but also throughout my blog in general. I have hit a slump recently and lost a bit of my mojo so the words just haven’t flown recently as well as they are capable of doing and honestly I haven’t really felt like writing much recently either, so there’s that. I have plans to go through my blog, tidy up, shorten, change and edit posts and the lay out within the next few weeks, so bare with me for the crappy, messy blog, for the time being at least.

This week’s blog starts 15th until 21st  of May  2017.

This week consists of lots of walks, photography opportunities, a lack of productivity (work wise), too many glasses at work and hobbling around with a sore toe.

Gym Sessions and ab attempts.

Once again, as I write this, it’s been a shocking attempt to workout this week, and I am ashamed to admit that. Although, I have hurt my toe, which has made walking difficult, and also planking. I did have many intentions to spend this week getting into a much needed fitness, gym and workout routine. But, once again I have sucked I am sorry to say. I did make a morning swim session with Paige this week though, which included a load of lengths, which left me feeling great, but tired. Next week is a new week and all that, yada yada yada, let’s hope I am more successful. It’s half term next week, so I’m not sure if I can swim yet, but, if my toe heals enough that I can comfortably run on it, then I know for a fact that I shall either be gyming or running this week. Watch this space.

Work. 

Work has been indifferent this week, but thankfully not as busy as the last couple of weeks. As much as I like the money of course, who wouldn’t, it was nice to have a few days which weren’t as intense or long. It’s still been fairly busy though. It’s been lovely and sunny the past few days, which has been lovely when outside, but, horrifically stifling at work. In fact I ended up practically begging Mark to remove my tie as I just couldn’t deal with that thing.

I’ve been quite frustrated with the fact that I feel as if I was left to carry a lot of the glasses by myself for the past few days, which I don’t mind, but it gets knackering, and frustrating when you feel like others aren’t pulling their weight. I won’t name names here, but there’s one person in particular who has annoyed me all week, stomping around complaining that it’s too hot, even though the’ve left early both days that I worked with them, and didn’t really bother to help out with the glasses. In fact I felt like there was one night where all I literally did for my five hour shift was collect glasses none stop and that everyone just expected me to do that all night. I kept having people ask me to get them, even though I was knackered. Honestly I was so hot, tired and over glasses by midnight at the end of my shift.

The customers were very nice this week, although, there was one pervy old man with a walking stick who kept hitting on me all night telling me that “I was lovely”, and “if he didn’t have a wife,” and I’m pretty sure something about smashing my back door.

There was also this funny incident, well I thought it was funny,  where I had accidentally smashed two glasses in the restaurant in front of some old ladies. One of them asked me if I’d had an accident, and I kind of had to stop myself laughing as it sounded like I had peed my pants or something.

Getting out of the flunk.

I’m still in the ‘flunk’, after weeks now, which is frustrating and annoying as it is hampering my progression to get forward in life. I really wish I could sit here and write that I had a productive week full of work outs, blogging and writing sessions, job applications, tidying up blogs and my new website, getting in touch with people regarding journalism work etc. Sadly it hasn’t happened for me yet, but it will. I am determined. In fact, I am determined to get that banging salary job that’s somewhere in my future, that I am badly craving.  I just need the little bit of luck that I am inwardly screaming out for, which I know will come my way soon. As well as getting out of this ‘flunk’ and working my ass off to get. It will happen.  However, this week I shall hopefully have a more productive week of blogging  editing, tidying, scheduling and job applying, as well as working out and getting my abs back. I’d also really love to do some website editing and posting this week. I have plans to be getting on with.

Catch Ups.

This week it’s been beautifully sunny and I have had some very lovely times walking around the Bay in the glorious sunshine with my good friend Paige, taking in the fresh air and sea views, just like old times. Oh and snapping away with my camera, again just like old times.

18765698_10155407318210972_5950805085802943058_n.jpg
Cute. 

18698540_10155407520960972_6831380986705882934_n.jpg

We also enjoyed making the most of my staff perks and swimming for free – I felt great after all those laps and exercise, dodging all these old ladies taking over the pool, as well as discounted lunch, walking around Rock Walk and seeing the ‘other’ side of the bay.

18765860_10155407312600972_587607598294400106_n.jpg

18813216_10155407302895972_5575771421176866305_n.jpg

18698306_10155407313960972_8245492305691264151_n.jpg

18698015_10155407526510972_2069869942917423943_n.jpg

18664450_10155407320030972_6915707468345243570_n.jpg

18740691_10155407321335972_2686699849491487074_n.jpg
The not so nice side. 
18699910_10155407548265972_6853375628972153046_n.jpg
The horrifically long and steep staircase feat. Paige.

It’s been very nice to catch up with a more stress free Paige now, after she had a long few months finishing off her first year of Uni. I especially enjoyed sitting on our bench up at Thatcher’s rock, taking in the beautiful deep, turquoise sea, and watching the world go by.

18664704_10155407537395972_685107900992499348_n.jpg
Exploring with Stumpy. 
18765723_10155407530525972_8855085046809835663_n.jpg
A repeat of a 2014 throwback.

18699848_10155407315790972_2100815397115144095_n.jpg

18664642_10155407537755972_9109829994541022227_n.jpg

18698404_10155407539455972_745626661264754842_n.jpg
‘Our bench’
18700352_10155407538450972_8127448560421531011_n.jpg
‘Our Bench.’

18739874_10155407542195972_4716542893762036577_n.jpg

I also managed a cinema trip with Abi, to see A Dog’s Purpose, which was a film that I saw in Australia, which I knew that I needed to see, despite the fact that I knew it would hit me in all the feels, (which it did by the way!) We managed to see the only showing of the day, and one of the final two, which was great going as we both happened to have a spare night, and we both managed to get double discount on our Movie Magic cards as it was two for one. We’re getting our Efron on next week and watching Zac running around a beach in the new Baywatch movie, which is exciting. I also managed to see Liv for a couple of hours for a quick natter up the Downs in the warm glow of the evening sunshine, before I had to go to work, which sucked as I just wanted to stay and play in the sun. Actually saying that, being up the Downs in the late evening, golden sun, made me think twice about what I want to do for my future, as I want my summer evenings back, not to be stuck behind a dark and dingy bar. Watch this space.

Netflix.

Once again, Gilmore Girls. Although, I haven’t been on Netflix so much this week, instead choosing to go and play in the sunshine instead. I still have a load more TV shows on my planned list, so hopefully I’ll still have plenty of time to have a long over due catch up on all these shows that I would really like to watch at some point.

Reading.

Once again, getting back into reading is one of the best decisions I made and starting and ending my day in a comfy marshmallow is a top idea.

This week I finished Me, You and Tiramisu and Lion and tonight I am planning to re-start the book: And The Mountains Echoed, which is by one of my favourite authors Khaled Hosseini, and has incidentally been on my shelf for the past couple of years half read with every intention of finishing. As noted before, I have many ideas of reviews for books that I have recently read to come, so watch this space.

Cooking.

This week I have had a fair few evenings off work, which has given me a rare opportunity to cook a little bit more. I enjoyed cooking some pasta and I for myself the other night, and trying out some veggie burgers, which I picked up for 50p in the reduced section of Waitrose. I also continued with my new found favourite veggie finger wraps, which have been a top lunch idea.

Extras.

This week I have enjoyed picking up lots of random bargains from trips to Waitrose, including mango, strawberries, veggies and my new favourite caramel surprises. I also finally ordered my Waitrose card, which couldn’t sound more middle aged woman if I tried.

I discovered from a trip to the doctors that I have a slightly infected toe, which has explained the hobbling around. I also saved money on my prescription by just buying it outright in the chemist rather than pay £8 something for my prescription from the doctor thanks to the nice guy who worked there. The good news is though, whilst I was there I made the most of the opportunity to get my moles checked out, which is something that I have been meaning to do since I got back from Australia. As it turned out, I had nothing to worry about so that was fun.

I treated myself to a discounted little George Foreman grill in Sainburies, and now I feel like a ‘proper’ adult. I’m excited to try it out and a few of the included recipes in the instruction manual within the next few weeks/months. Watch this space.

Liverpool.

Well last week was the end of the 2016/17 football season, so this week is my first weekend in a while without the enjoyment of the Premier League. I miss it already, but never mind at least there’s the excitement of the transfer window. I wonder what the big stories will be this season. I have been avoiding the fact that they have been in Australia this week though, as I’m not there. It was funny looking at the videos and photos on the club’s social media account though.

*Small update:

I had a horrendous night at work on Sunday night. We were very busy as expected as it is the half term week at school, but, we were also very understaffed. In fact, there was only three of us bar staff on, when the hotel was completely booked out and over 400 in for dinner. This meant that with Colin off to open the other bar, there was only two people in to make orders, get drinks, serve on the other bar, collect glasses etc. We ended up being complained at for slow service, complained at by some of the waiting staff for not collecting their table’s glasses (when they just wanted to quickly clean their section and go home), and was frantically running around trying to sort everything out all night. Horrid. I’m so glad I’m not working tonight. 😉 I also had a nice afternoon playing football with the niece and nephews, plus dad in the garden. Although I’m not sure if it was good for my toe or not, and watching The Incredibles. 🙂

So yes, usual ending to this blog. I plan on going through my blog and tidying this rambly mess up, adding in the photos etc. So no judging for the time being. This blog is a work in progress.

Until next time,
Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri. xo

Leave a Reply

