The Weekly Hit and Miss List. #19

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines.

I apologise for the lack of blogs and failing to get planned blogs up on the scheduled or planned day. Hopefully next week shall be more productive, so watch this space.

So without further ado:

(Week starting /8/4/17)

Hit:

1| Walks around the Bay.

Every year for as long as I can remember, my friend Paige and I have enjoyed multiple walks around the Bay, especially in the summer. I have many fond memories (and photographs), from some of our many walks over the years. The other day Paige messaged me to say she was finished with her uni assignments that had been plaguing her for months, so we went right ahead with our plans for more walks. This week, I have thankfully had a quieter week at work, so I’ve had a lot more time to chill out and make the most of the rather nice sunny weather. We went for a couple of walks, and swimming this week and it’s been lovely. I’m looking forward to more in the up and coming months.

2| Photography opportunities. 

Like the above point, and yes this kind of links in with walks, I have really enjoyed using my camera and just snapping away like old times. Luckily where I live there are lots of photographic scenery, which looks particularly beautiful in the summer time weather. During the walks with Paige this week I have enjoyed getting my camera out and capturing moments. It’s almost been a blessing having a broken phone, as my phone has almost made me lazy, as it’s a lot lighter than carrying a camera about.

3| The new sweet scented Imperial Leather shower gel. 

The other week I saw the new sweet flavoured smelling range by Imperial Leather. I have always been a fan of their stuff, but I was equally intrigued by the new flavours, although the marshmallow one was underwhelming. I bought the lemon sherbet one last week, and it’s been a blast and this week I have added the fruit chews one to my collection and I love it, it’s making my favourite showers even more interesting.

Miss:

1|The Manchester terrorism attack and senseless killings.

I’m sure most people around the world would have heard about the horrific events that occurred on Monday night at the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester’s M.E.N Arena.
I have no words, but like many others I felt a lot of emotions when I woke up and read about the events that unfolded at the end of the concert. I may not have personally known anyone who was at the Arena, but I have family around the same ages of the people who was there. I have experienced what it is like to be surrounded by thousands of smiling, happy fans whilst watching my idols sing. Seeing smiling faces of teenagers who sadly passed away in this senseless act of terrorism, reminded me of my 15 year-old cousin Lindsey, who lives in Liverpool, not all that far away from Manchester, who could just have easily have been there that night. There was primary school aged children there, who just could have easily have been my 11 year-old cousin James, who also lives in Liverpool. The parents who sadly perished who’d just come to collect their kids, could just have easily have been my mum, who’s always been reliable over the years at collecting me from similar events. Seeing the smiley, happy tweets and excited messages from people similar in age to me, excited to be in the presence of their idol, reminded me of all the times I have been at a Beyonce concert, writing similar tweets, and feeling a similar sense of excitement. It hits home when you realise that you can relate to those poor, innocent fans, who were simply there to enjoy themselves and get lost in the music for a couple of hours, who are now suffering from loss of life, limbs, family members and friends etc.
This week we may have witness the indescribable acts of senseless murder, terror, violence and loss of life, but we also witnessed the best in people too, from all walks of life doing their bit to help. So maybe there’s hope in the world after all.

2| My sore toe.

Of course, nothing this week will come close to what happened in Manchester, but, I still need to write three things. But this week, well actually last Sunday evening whilst cutting my toe nails, I accidentally sliced myself, and a trip to the doctor yesterday confirmed that my toe was slightly infected. So yes, this week my toe has been really painful and I have been limping around work and also, around the hills of the Bay during walks with my friend Paige. It has been very painful though, and a bit of a burden, when it came down to working and also a bit of a kill joy as we had to keep stopping during our walk. Anyway, I have some medicine now, and the doctor reckons that it should be fixed by next week, so we shall see.

3| Manchester United riding their luck once again.

Once again, this is nothing compared to my top miss this week. But, anyway, I’m beyond fed up of Man United once again riding their luck. They’ve had a shit season, everyone apart from blind MU fans themselves can see just how crap they are, and yet they still managed to win the EFL cup and the Europa (two cups Liverpool narrowly missed out on last year), and the Charity Shield, which meant they also over took Liverpool’s record and are back in the Champions League, despite finishing 6th. Gross. This also means that their arrogant fans are even more annoying that usual on social media.  I can’t stand Man U and I can’t stand the fact that they seem to be lucky. They’ve been shit in Europe all year and still manage to win the trophy as they had shitter teams in the cup than last year. Had they played like that against last season’s opposition, there’s no way they would have won. I’m sorry. I can’t wait for luck to fuck off for a little bit with them.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this week. Hopefully my life will still be slightly exciting in one way or another now that I am back in England for the time being. I know it’s not quite Australia, but I will enjoy every day, I mean after all, life is meant to be enjoyed.

I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri. xo

Leave a Reply

