Sunday Summaries| Long week, rude people and a shit load of Netflix and chilling. (The wholesome kind!)

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading lots of blog features where people talk about their week and what they’ve been up to for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own Sunday summaries on this blog for a while now and now that I am back freezing my arse off in the UK, I fully plan to love this blog and put a lot more time and effort into it than previously. I plan to keep a weekly schedule on here for my Sunday Summaries, high lighting what I have been up to that week for any nosy sods that might happen to stumble across my little corner of the internet. Even if the only person who reads this happens to be my mum. As I wrote on my previous Sunday Summaries posts, once again this blog post shall be more of a wing it situation and we’ll see where I can go from here.

Also I apologise for the slow updates, not only on my Sunday Summaries series, but also throughout my blog in general. I have hit a slump recently and lost a bit of my mojo so the words just haven’t flown recently as well as they are capable of doing and honestly I haven’t really felt like writing much recently either, so there’s that. I have plans to go through my blog, tidy up, shorten, change and edit posts and the lay out within the next few weeks, so bare with me for the crappy, messy blog, for the time being at least.

This week’s blog starts April 24th 2017 to the 30th.

This week for me has felt very long, despite the fact that nothing much has really happened. I just think I’m very tired at the moment, my body honestly feels all out of whack. I don’t think it’s helping not sleeping very well or getting many days off work. Also, work has been very busy and hectic with Young Farmers down, Bank Holidays and a shit load of all inclusive customers lately. Honestly, I feel knackered.

This week has been filled with lack of sleep, and bad attempts of sleeping in, despite the fact that I know my body is craving sleep. Coffee, and beautiful banging hot showers have definitely been my best friends this week. Oh and beautiful, but slightly misleading sunny skies have also helped me. Despite the sunshine, this week has been rather chilly.

I started this week with two nervy bar openings at work, which was a real test for me, and something I’m not quite ready for just yet. I actually disliked every second of the second attempt if I’m being honest. Luckily I had some help on my first attempt, big thanks to Duty Manager Dave, who really helped me out. Although, he did walk off with the spare set of keys for the Starlight Lounge, which is always fun. I also didn’t do enough lemons, so people had to keep on slicing lots of lemons when they came in. Whoops. I also narrowly avoided getting indigestion from stuffing my face with a shit load of food, before power walking over to work. It was very nice coming home and stuffing my face with some well received pasta from Waitrose too.

Home.  Pasta.  Knackered.  (insert pic)

The second attempt of bar opening was horrendous on my part. In my defence, I wasn’t really sure what I was doing other than some scrappy notes on a piece of paper from Yuko, and the Duty Manager who was on that day, wanted me to learn for myself. So, I got myself in a fluster for the best part of an hour and almost had a heart attack in the process. In fact, as it was very busy with all inclusive drinks being none stop, everyone was rushing around sorting out the tills for me as following bad advice, I had managed to mix up all the money in the till, including the loan. Not great.

Work itself was quite interesting this week, it’s been very busy with 150 all inclusive people in. Most were nice this week, although some were quite sassy and there were some very rude people in, which I shall get to in a sec. In fact, it was so busy, I didn’t get time to eat my dinner on most days, which is always the worse as it makes work much harder if you’re having to work until midnight+ on a practically empty stomach. I did manage to set my mouth on fire with some chilly noodles, whoops, and eat some very nice coffee cake, which I had my eye on all night. Sadly, I had to bin some raspberry cheese cake thing, as it was so busy that it had been sat around for a couple of hours and had cream and ice cream on it, which isn’t the best idea.

I’m exited for cake and my mouth is on fire from my noodles. (insert pic).

This week I have served some down right horrible people. And when I say horrible, I’m taking about the horrendous kind. Just stuck up, loud, arrogant and quite frankly, nasty, horrible people. I really wanted to throw the ‘flat’ pint all over her stupid, smug face. She just wasn’t a nice person. Like, amongst other things, they were complaining (there was three of them), one of the main things was how I basically poured a shitty pint. Ok, fair enough, that may or may not have been my fault. I also picked up a glass, which happened to have a crack in, which clearly was not my fault. I change it for a different one, and happened to mention to them that this particular glass that I had happened to pick up had a small crack in it, and she was like, in the most patronising way ever : “Aw you’re not having A good shift are you?” This was after the pint incident by the way. I was like, Erm? That wasn’t my fault. I also wanted to tell her that I was having a good shift until she turned up. I then explained that I hadn’t been working there long and she said: “Aww is it your first day?”  But, when I said I’d been there for about a month, she was like “Oh, well in that case you’re a bit shit aren’t you.” Or something similar.  What a horrible, nasty woman.  I hope Karma gets her hard for being such a horrible person. I was hoping not to see her again, but she turned up the next day. Luckily, Maxine had to deal with her, not me. She did, loudly ask me how I was getting on though, in a very patronising way again. And happened to be rude to Maxine too. Honestly there is no need to be ruder to people, especially those in the service industry.

I also had a run in with an old lady in Sainsbury’s, which reconfirmed my frustrations about how I feel about how some people, not everyone, treat others. Basically, and yes I know I was texting, but it was literally for a second, and yes, I may have been in the way, but, instead of politely asking me to move, or the equivalent, she literally and rather rudely moaned at me and then went on and on and on like a nagging mother to the poor bloke she was with. So, I yelled at her to calm down love, because she literally got under my skin. I was pleased as a punch to get the last word in though, like a boss. I don’t see the point, maybe it’s a generation thing, but, ask most young people who happen to work in customer service, but, it’s always the older generation and middle aged people who give you the most shit and hassle. You rarely get it from younger people. At least the future has hope after all though…

I also may have had some interesting toilet experiences, and yes you may think this is too much information, but it’s life, sometimes you have to shit at work. Basically all week, I’ve hoped to have a couple of minutes to shit in peace, because otherwise you get stage fright and it really pisses me off when people just don’t understand what I’m going through as I sit in my cubical and wait for them to kindly leave so I can get on with my business and get back to work. There was this one lady who I listened to pace about for ages, and just would not leave. She was not my friend.

Of course, I later discovered that there’s a staff toilet, so I don’t have to share with the pheasants.

This week I finally, for the first time in what feels like forever, got more than one day off. Which has been great and so needed.  I had a lovely afternoon with my best friend Livy, which included a very nice lunch of chicken, gravy and veggies on my part and lots of cups of tea, a trip for gym gear at Sports Direct, where we tried on half the store and only bought a few items.  I treated myself to another pair of shorts and a hoody, which I probably didn’t need, but for £8 was a steal and one that I have decided to wear back and fourth to the gym.

New hoody feat. It’s cold, I’m tired and I’m not feeling like being productive or work later. (Insert pic here.) Also I just wanted to take a selfie in my new hoody, because why not. ‪#YOLO

We also got Liv’s key from Danny at work as she really needed her house key and power marched up and down the hill. Which was a fair amount of exercise.  Sadly I didn’t manage to get my membership card sorted out in time, but, we did manage to get some bits for Liv’s Granny’s birthday from Waitrose, and I got some veggies, not that I made myself dinner in time. And had a very nice bubble bath complete with a banging Spotify playlist and ended the night watching a few episodes of Gilmore Girls with mum.  Great day off all round, and after working seven days straight in a row, was much needed.

I also had a very nice and lazy second day off on the Saturday, where I slept in until 12, enjoyed a very nice coffee and a spot of Netflix. I also managed to sort my room out a little bit, although I didn’t get much stuff to chuck out as I had originally hoped for, progress is progress. I was also planning on going over to The Range for photo frames, bed sheets and a mooch, only it got quite late, and I couldn’t be bothered. Plans for another day then. Whilst sorting through my room, I found my 13 year-old diary containing mostly school gossip and which boy I was obsessed with that week. Which was hilarious, but made me cringe. I ended up nipping down to Waitrose to get a few bits for dinner and coming away with lots of bargains. Buzzing. 7 items for £5 something is definitely a bargain there. I saw a guy who I went to school with in there, which brought back a lot of embarrassing drunk memories from my 18th birthday party. I ended up having a very nice bubble bath, complete with some new Radox, and made some veggie steaks and a shit load of veggies for mum and I tonight.

Mum’s dinner made by yours truly. (Insert pic here.)

This week I wouldn’t say it was my most productive work wise/ writing wise/ job applying wise etc, which is frustrating. Although, I have managed to possibly sort out some up and coming paid work experience over the next few months. I also managed to get myself up and out of bed early and get a lift over to work to finally get my membership card organised. Hopefully I get it tonight at work so that I can start getting my ass in the gym and the pool next week. I ended up treating myself to a home made veggie breakfast afterwards as I had been putting it off for a while.

Morning breakfast vibes. ‪#BreakyForOne (Insert pic.)

I also started slightly tidying up old blog posts, which is something I am hoping to get really organised over the next few weeks, because it doesn’t matter how many ideas you have and plans of what to do, if nothing happens, then what’s the point? Watch this space. I have already planned a new layout design and I’m already waiting on a header, so hopefully in the next few weeks, I’ll have a blog that I am more proud of to show off, and the content to match.  For the time being at least though, have a scrappy blog of messy, badly organised thoughts.

Anyway, I’m off to get changed and get myself into work mode. Here’s to hoping next week will be a week of productivity and getting my body and energy back on track.

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Leave a Reply

