The Weekly Hit and Miss List. #14

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines.

I apologise for the lack of blogs and failing to get planned blogs up on the scheduled or planned day. Hopefully next week shall be more productive, so watch this space.

So without further ado:

(Week starting 10/4/17)

Hit:

1| Simple evenings in.

I have had day off this week and I really am not complaining of course, but, I did realise how much I missed the simpleness of making myself some dinner and watching the TV with the parents. Now that I work evening and nights, those kind of things are a rarity at the moment. So yeah, on the Tuesday, I had a really lovely night in, with a bubble bath – that I never got last Sunday as I was working and a banging Spotify playlist, I was able to cook, so I made myself some homemade sweet and sour chicken, and I also watched Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them with mum and dad – even if dad fell asleep and left half way through, which was lovely as I don’t remember the last time we sat down as a family to watch a movie that we all agreed on, usually dad chooses haha.

tumblr_ol6q3aRDBj1qfl08io4_400.gif

 

2| Playing football with my nephew and dad down the park or in the garden.

My little nephew is six years old, and exactly how I was when I was his age, absolutely besotted with the beautiful game. I think he might be a better player than I was at his age actually. In fact he’s now in the TUFC academy under 6s, it’s adorable. Recently dad and I have had a fair few kick abouts with him, he can’t get enough of kicking a ball around and neither can I, so it’s win/win.

3|Getting excited about homeware in shops.

Firstly, yes I know, I’m lame. Secondly, yes I know I don’t have my own place yet, but a girl can dream right? Recently I have noticed that mooching around in homeware sections in shops make me rather excited, and it’s lame. Also, since when did I get so old? I distinctively remember not that long ago groaning every time my mother would drag me in the homeware sections of John Lewis, Debenhams, Ikea etc. Now I go in there willingly, in fact I even sometimes suggest it, and, I get excited when I’m in there. Like you should have seen how enthusiastic I was getting over a spice rack and a keys peg in The Range with my best friend the other day. I already have some idea of how I am going to decorate my future pad, and I’m not even a homeowner yet.

Miss:

1| Forced Service Charges.

Ok I should have put this on last week’s hit and miss list as it occurred last week. But, honestly, it’s one of my biggest pet peeves. When I say forced service charges, I mean when companies put an ‘optional’ fixed tip on the receipt because they know that people will be too polite to argue it, it’s sneaky really. I will refuse to pay it every time. I won’t give into bullying tactics. Basically my point is, if I want to tip someone, I will tip them because I think they’ve earned it. Also, I will decide how much I want to pay someone. I’m not just going to pay an extra £3 something because they added it onto the receipt. Also for the record the service was shockingly slow and not worth the tip.

2| The Rota at work constantly changing.

I know it can’t be helped, due to staff injuries and holidays, but it would be nice to know what’s going on and what time I am supposed to finish you know. I can’t keep up lol.

3| Being woken up to be told someone’s going out.

Dear parents, yes this does apply to you. Sorry for moaning if you do read this.
Basically a few years back, my mum developed a habit of waking me up early to tell me she was off to work, and she’s started it again. I wouldn’t mind so much, but I work until midnight and what not now, I do not need to be woken up at 8 to be told that my mum is off to work, because I then can’t go back to sleep. :/ Also, a text or a note would be fine lol. Now, dad has also started doing it too, I can’t win haha.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this week. Hopefully my life will still be slightly exciting in one way or another now that I am back in England for the time being. I know it’s not quite Australia, but I will enjoy every day, I mean after all, life is meant to be enjoyed.

I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Leave a Reply

