The weekly hit and miss list. #13

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines.

I appologise for the lack of blogs and failing to get planned blogs up on the scheduled or planned day. Hopefully next week shall be more productive, so watch this space.

So without further ado:

(Week starting 3/4/17)

Hit:

1| Exeter and catch ups.

The way the rota worked out this week, I had five days off in a row, with having the weekend off on last week’s rota and my three days in a row this week, I decided to make the most of days I had and went over on the train with friends for a day out in the city. I used to live there, so I know it very well and it always feels good to go back. It’s also one of my favourite places in the world, so it was very nice to go back this week. I went for a day out with my best friend Liv, and had a really nice mooch and burgers. I also had a really nice day out and catch up with my friend Sophie, who I hadn’t seen in over a year. We also had a nice mooch, lunch, coffee, discounted cocktails and she gave me a really good, and much needed, life perspective.

2| Warmer, sunnier days.

 It’s definitely not Australian weather or heat for that matter, but it’s warmer and brighter and brighter weather means for happier days all round. Which is a nice feeling it must be said. I’m also enjoying the lighter evenings too, lighter, warmer evenings is a nice change.

 

3| SundayFunday/ Family times.

Basically every Sunday my parents look after my niece and nephews for the day. And it’s really nice to have a family day, spend time with everyone and just do simple things. Although, with mum’s new job, which I am super proud of by the way and will be talking about it on another blog post in due course. Anyway, with mum probably working on Sundays too, things might be slightly different around here. Anyway, last Sunday, I had a lovely, simple Sunday afternoon in the sun, with Dad, Will and Poppi – Tom was poorly, where we went to visit mum’s new art studio in Cockington Village, played football, I took photographs, watched a Punch and Judy with Clippo ice lollies, and just had a lovely day really. We also had a very nice home made Sunday roast and dad and I had a lovely evening watching Mum’s part organised Green Light Unplugged charity CD launch night for McMillian Cancer Support. Which is also something I shall be blogging about very soon, so watch this space. So yes, with the exception of the gig, it was one of those days where nothing particularly special happened, but I had a really lovely afternoon in the sun with some of the family.

Miss:

1| Lack of sleep/messed up sleeping pattern.

 I know this is a repeat from last few weeks, but my sleeping pattern, but it really is tough to try and adapt my sleeping pattern to my new work schedule. The past couple of weeks have been especially trying as I have been finishing after midnight and after one am. I’m not complaining, it’s nice to have some money coming in, even if it’s not a lot, and I do enjoy it, I can’t wait to get a really well paid, salary type Journalism/Digital Media one soon, so I can fix my sleeping and general life pattern. 

2| Australia feeling so far away.


I had a feeling that this might be a little tough, as the dry season at Lake A is coming up, and a lot of my old work mates are, or have already, headed back up to that magical, beautiful place, which feels so far away from me now. Of course, I have long accepted that, for the time being I can’t work there, or be there with everyone. Which sucks, but hey, that’s life, everything happens for a reason, and you just have to roll with it, but it must be said it’s tough seeing everyone’s social media and updates about what they’re up to, knowing that I’m not there. Don’t get me wrong, I will never tire of seeing the beautiful scenery, even if it’s just through a photograph uploaded onto Facebook or Instagram, but seeing the place, makes me ache and long to be back out there. Also, the regular contact with Lotty, which is great of course, also serves as a reminder of what I am missing out on. I know I’ll be back though, watch this space.

3| Sore neck.

 Ok, as you can see, I am struggling for miss this week. But, my neck is slightly sore, and has been for a few days.  I think I have slept awkwardly on it, or in a draught. So, it’s been a little stiff, which isn’t fun.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this week. Hopefully my life will still be slightly exciting in one way or another now that I am back in England for the time being. I know it’s not quite Australia, but I will enjoy every day, I mean after all, life is meant to be enjoyed.

I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Leave a Reply

