The weekly hit and miss list. #9

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines. Oh and for the record, I found it really hard to narrow it down to three things this week, so just so you know, and maybe it will be included in next week’s list, but Ed Sheeran’s newest album Divide is genius.

So without further ado:
(Week starting 27/2/17)

Hit:

1| Getting back into reading again and starting my mornings off reading in bed with a coffee.

I have always read books, and have enjoyed spending hours getting lost in different worlds and making friends with a variety of characters over the years. However, somewhere along the line I got a little lost. I’d like to blame my A Level English Literature course, which although introduced me to an array of incredible, thought-provoking novels, the minute you take the pleasure of reading for fun out out of the equation and mercilessly spend hours picking apart quotes and paragraphs and deciphering the crap out of words and sentences for a grade or an essay, you lose that freedom slightly. I found myself no longer wanting to read as much as I did before. I guess that was the year I discovered the wonderful world of fanfiction too, and spent hours getting lost in worlds, on my small phone screen, instead of feeling that beautiful book in my hand. I am embarrassed to admit it, but I simply was unable to switch between the online fanfiction world and physically holding a book in my hands and for a long time, fanfiction often won out. It was always readily available for me, on my phone. I have tried, I have tried really hard to enjoy both equally, but I still haven’t found that balance that I have been actively seeking out for years.
Anyway, recently I have been enjoying getting stuck into a book that I can physically hold in my hands again, and it is a wonderful feeling. I’m going to challenge myself to read a few books per month again, because I really love that same sense of freedom I have always felt and loved. It’s been amazing to wake up again in the mornings and get lost for hours in a book in bed or on the sofa with a mug of coffee beside me.

2| Spending time with mum/and the pals. 

As I write this, I’m smiling as I have just come back from a lovely couple of hours strolling around this town called Totnes with mum. 🙂
So yeah, when mum suggested this morning that we should head over to Totnes this afternoon I was all for it. Having a mooch around Totnes, looking in charity shops and music/record shop has always been our thing, and it had been over a year since we last spent a Saturday afternoon together doing that, so of course it was lovely. In fact, it was made extra awesome this time around by the fact that we stopped for a pot of tea and this HUGE slice of victoria sponge cake.
This week I have also had fun catching up with Livy – and attempting to swim, only we couldn’t find Liv a swimming costume that she liked enough to hand over some of her hard earn cash for, that was until right at the end of the day when after she had tried on half of Debenhams’ swimwear collection, and made some of the funniest videos in the process, she finally has a nice one and we’re going swimming some time next week instead. I also catched up with one of my best friends Paul, who is down from London for a couple of weeks. He was lovely enough to treat me to the most amazing cream tea where we ate like royals. I caught up with my old work pal Miles and we had the funniest game of crazy golf and I had the world’s smallest Costa, and my friend Abi, where we were blown away watching Hidden Figures. (See below).

3| Hidden Figures – The film.

Hidden Figures – One Word. Wow. I mean, the hair’s are still standing up on the back of my neck and it’s been a few days. That was such an empowering movie. To be honest, I am still in complete awe of this film.  I am just so honestly thankful to the everyone behind the creation of the film for bringing this story to light. It was bloody fantastic, emotional and empowering and oh so satisfying to watch. It’s based on a true story of the women mathematicians who played a pivotal role of the early NASA space programme and the strength they constantly exhibited in overcoming racism and sexism issues, and doing so in the most dignified and often comical way. These women are heroes and I am beyond shocked that they’re only now getting the credit and recognition they deserve.

For the record, I’m still beyond disappointed at the fact that Hidden Figures and Lion were so badly overlooked at the Oscars, when in my opinion both films deserved an abundance of awards and recognition for creating a beautiful, emotional journey, which left me feeling so much by the end, as opposed to LA LA Land, the film that everyone’s raving about. The film which I felt was a little bit soulless and a try hard on the classical musical movies of the golden years, those films that I love so much. The film that got lots of awards, which shouldn’t have done, because in my own personal opinion, there were far better movies in those categories. The film that I didn’t feel anything for at the end. At least though, both Lion and Hidden Figures triumphed at the Box Office.

For the record, if you haven’t seen Hidden Figures and you can, DO IT. And when it comes out on DVD and Blu Ray, BUY IT.

Miss:

1|My eczema coming back and ruining my face.

A couple of winter’s ago I developed eczema, which likes to make my eyelids a nice shade of crusty pink, alongside a nice collection of flaky skin built up under my nostrils and right now I also have a nice patch of crumbly, dry skin right under my skin, which makes me worry slightly that I might be resembling the outward look of a long term drug abuser. I know, sexy right? Anyway, last time around I took to frantically smearing foundation all over my face, in a desperate attempt to restore some dignity and confidence. This time around I stopped bothering because I couldn’t deal with the stinging sensation which accompanied it, also it probably wasn’t helping my face out in the long run, didn’t make much difference – I was still sporting pink eye shadow, only it highlighted the fact that I clearly was badly attempting to cover my appearance and I am still priding myself on the fact that I managed to slightly tan in Australia and my foundation still doesn’t match my new face. Here’s to hoping it fucks off soon though, I’m self conscious enough at my questionable face at the best of times.

2| Lack of money/ Stress.

I am currently in the middle of playing the waiting game. You know, when you apply for a shit load of jobs and then have to sit back and wait to find out if someone wants you or not. Well being in between jobs, as well as travelling around Australia  for a year, has left me without a lot of money, for the time being at least. Super fun. Having £1 something on my card, makes it rather difficult to enjoy simple things like buying coffee in town with friends, which is fine, for the time being at least, but it’s not much fun when you become that guy who talks about lack of money, pretty much most of the time. For the record, I’m not someone who throws money around too much, but it’s weird not having a safety net of a little bit of money on my debt card.

3| Liverpool.

Honestly being a Liverpool fan is like being on a rollercoaster with a shit load of unexpected drops and lots of ups and false hope. Every season is an emotional rollercoaster with what ultimately turns out to be false hope in the end sadly.  I love the crap out of my boys, but it gets tired. I’m tired of starting every season with this hope, that maybe, just maybe we’ll be back to the old glorious days of the past. And every season towards the middle it fizzles out. It gets tiring. But every year I never learn. A few months ago I had a slight glimmer of hope that we might be up there challenging Chelsea at the top and really pushing them right to the finishing line, to thinking that we’re on for a strong call of a top four finish, now I think we’ll be lucky to finish in the top six. It’s sickening. Oh and this week I am still not over the Leicester game. That’s all I shall say on the matter.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this week. Hopefully my life will still be slightly exciting in one way or another now that I am back in England for the time being. I know it’s not quite Australia, but I will enjoy every day, I mean after all, life is meant to be enjoyed.
I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

 

 

 

One thought on “The weekly hit and miss list. #9

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summaries| Whatever week this one is haha. – Keri Writes.

Leave a Reply

