Sunday Summaries| My first week back in the cold U.K.

For the record, I know I have really slacked on here recently, but that was largely due to the fact that my time in Australia was coming to an end and I really wanted to make the most of my remaining time. So I made the decision to put my blog on the back burner, until I got back to the UK. For the record, now that I am home, I have a whole heap of ideas and future posts lined up and I also have plans to tidy up my blog and give it a real good tidy up. But that’s for another day and for when I have fixed my laptop and have the time to dedicate to my blog.

Anywaaaaayyy….

Hey there,
So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading lots of blog features where people talk about their week and what they’ve been up to for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own Sunday summaries on this blog for a while now and now that I am back freezing my arse off in the UK, I fully plan to love this blog and put a lot more time and effort into it than previously. I plan to keep a weekly schedule on here for my Sunday Summaries, high lighting what I have been up to that week for any nosy sods that might happen to stumble across my little corner of the internet. Even if the only person who reads this happens to be my mum.  As I wrote on my previous Sunday Summaries posts, once again this blog post shall be more of a wing it situation and we’ll see where I can go from here.

Week starting: 18th-26th February . 

So for starters, this week has been an interesting one for me, in terms of adapting to the colder climate and the rain, being back at home and also the fact that being back here has meant being back to reality. I actually feel as if I have been in a coma for a year being back home, as nothing really has changed, but in a way a lot has changed too. Sadly also my life has gotten considerably much more boring since I left Australia, so I guess I shall have to get my head down and work hard to get back out to where I know ultimately want to be.

This week has mostly consisted of broken laptops, catching up with my parents, family and the odd few friends left in my home town, missing Australia, catching up with Lotty – who is still in the sun, whilst I am now wrapped up in a shit load of layers. Oh and also trying to warm up, job hunting, mum nagging a lot and dreaming of Australia and its sunnier shores.

Also that was ONE long ass journey, I went from one seven hour plane ride, straight on to a twelve hour one, with about an hour in between and then straight into a car for a five hour drive home from Heathrow as I live in the middle of nowhere. Fun. I also barely slept and didn’t have a bottle of water on me for the 12 hour flight, which was a nightmare. So I’ve actually been on dehydrated bugger for the whole week. Little tip, always keep bottles of water on you on long flights so you don’t end up being a dehydrated disaster like me. In summary; LONG day. LONG journey.

This week I have been trying to finally sort out my sleeping pattern. I’m getting better now, I stop waking up at 3:37am now because my body thought it was 11:37am and I was still in Australia.  I now get a lie in until about 7:30, which in the grand scheme of things is actually a blessing, I actually feel a lot more productive waking up really early. I still haven’t quite gotten used to be awake at 6am before the rest of the house though, especially as the house is super dark still. Weird. It’s also weird for me to be wearing so many more layers to bed than before too. At least now though I’ve stopped wearing socks to bed. I never really understood how anyone could do that, until I froze my arse off after being in the Australian summer for over a year. So I guess I’m no longer that guy again, awesome.

On the Monday I made a plan of action with dad for my future plans and aspirations. I love having a focus and a goal to work towards. I just really pray it all works out for me now. It’s very refreshing to finally have another goal to work towards.

I have had a few really nice catch up with friends this week, the ones who I have known and have been close to for years, which has been lovely after a year away. It has also been nice to be back in places that I went to a lot before I left. I might miss Australia and really wish I was still out there having the time of my life, but it has been nice to see people who I haven’t seen for a while, so I can’t really complain can I! I am very lucky in life in all honesty.
On the Sunday, which was my first full day back, I had a very lovely afternoon and long over due catch up with my primary school pal Jude at the Babbacombe Inn, which is one of my favourite places to meet friends for dinner or drinks if they happen to be up my end of the Bay. The food is always amazing and great value for money and the service isn’t too shabby either. We had an amazing Sunday Roast and I got the cheesecake as a desert. 😍👌
We ended up spending the afternoon reminiscing, catching up and laughing over a very refreshing bottle of Rose’. It was lovely. I then played with my niece and nephews all afternoon once they got back from the park, which also included a very manic FaceTime with my Auntie Denise and cousins Lindsey and James, with the kids yelling stuff over each other. 😄

This week I also had a very long over due with my best friend Livy, twice in fact. On the Tuesday we reunited after a whole year apart and it was all kinds of amazing and wonderful and lovely.  By the way it was so nice drinking my favourite cocktails and eating Mexican food at Las Iguanas too. 😍💕 I didn’t realise how much I had missed her until I was sat stuffing my face and gulping down lots of fruity and flavoursome cocktails. Las Igunanas has always been our thing, so it was great to catch up there. They just don’t make cocktails like that in Australia, or not where I have been anyway.

To make the evening/night even more awesome too, the sky was beautiful. 😍 Liv ordered Tom Daley’s new book – Tom’s Daily plan, which I had wanted since December when it came out, but I had to wait until I came back to England to get it. She got it for me on next day delivery too and also saved me like £6 or something. Total bargain. For the record I shall be blogging my Updates, progress and cooking attempts from his book in future blog posts.

On Thursday I had a lovely  morning coffee, cream tea and a catch up with this lady called Carol at the Livermead hotel. I wasn’t expecting to be out too long, but actually it had  turned into mid afternoon by the time we had paid and left. 🇬🇧☕️ (10:30-3:00) Clearly we  had lots to talk about. 😄 Carol was kind enough to buy me a scone and a flat white, which turned out to be a good thing as I hadn’t eaten any breakfast. I had never been there before, but the scone with cream and jam was soft and crumbly and the view was beautiful.

I also had a nice walk and catch up with Abi and her dog Rosie. Although it got rather cold. We just walked around my block and the sea front and caught up with life. We also made some important fitness and gym plans.

On the Saturday I was going to go to the Torquay United game with Dad, my nephew Will and his dad Nick. Only it was very cold, very wet, expensive and they lost anyway. 😄⚽️ In the end, blogging and writing in the warm won out. I did however, have fun kicking a ball around with Will, who looked very cute in his little football kit. ⚽️

I also had the perfect wet Sunday  afternoon with Liv, which was  complete with an all you can eat breakfast at Broadys  and a cinema trip to see the film Sing. 🎥🎙🎶🐨🐾🍴🍳 #SundayFunday  Sing was brilliant by the way. I loved the cast, the story, the comedy, the music and the animation. Liv and I were wiggling in our seats and singing along the whole time. Liv gave it a strong 9/10 and I gave it a 8/10.

This week, let’s just say, has brought a lot of tension with my mum. I understand why she does it, it’s out of love and how my mum and my aunts were raised as kids. However, it’s suffocating and I have often found myself wishing that she would just listen to me and leave me to get on with it. I guess I just need to put my head down, get on with it and persevere. We shall see how things pan out. It’s happened before when I moved back home after I finished Uni and moved back home for a few months before flying out to Australia. No one died back then, so here’s to hoping it all works out again. I have found myself feeling really frustrated at times and also missing Australia and the freedom I had out there. We ended up having yet another heated discussion over signing on. I hate feeling frustrated and trapped all the time. Why won’t she listen to me? I love her, but coming home always now makes me feel trapped. I hate that I always feel like I’m going backwards all the time

😩  As it turned out, the forced trip into  town to do boring adulty things, like go to the bank and to sign on the dole – which was something I didn’t want to do, was a waste of time as I didn’t qualify as I had been out in Australia for a year, anyway. Dad came too and we were like, well it’s a good job he was here too as mum might not have believed me. 😄 There was another day were Dad and I did went for a stroll around the area, mainly to keep mum happy, looking for shops advertising local jobs. I found a couple and applied when I got in. Poor dad is in the middle of all this awkwardness.

This week I have been working on my fitness and body again. Australia made me yo-yo in motivation. I am now determined to get back into a decent routine. I went on a run  in almost a year, the conclusion? I’m horrifically unfit. Well ok maybe not, but it was a lot harder than before. 😄 I was glad that I didn’t struggle as much I had initial had feared though has, so there’s that. I didn’t run for the rest of the week sadly. My leg stiffened up and I lacked in motivation too I guess. I managed. I did manage to do a home work-out everyday though, and I am now looking forward to getting stuck into Tom’s book.

This week I have been cooking a bit too, which has been nice. Including the morning when I popped down to Waitrose to grab some eggs and bread for a late breaky. It was a rather pleasant walk actually and I had a lot of fun making little videos of my walk to show Lotty.

I think this might be the first ever time I made both eggs looks reasonably similar. I am very impressed with myself. 🍴🍳

I’ve been on the recipe/cooking hype this week too, including the morning when I spent some time jotting down lots of ingredients and ideas from books and magazines for the weekly shopping trip to Sainsburys. 🍴📝 Which by the way turned out to be  a rather rushed trip  with dad. I definitely didn’t get everything on my list that I had wanted to get. Also it’s not very fun rushing around the isles. At least I had actually managed to eat breakfast at a normal breakfasty time that morning for a change. 😄 I refused to go food shopping on an empty stomach. That’s alway disastrous. So no accidentally becoming the new owner of isle four for me. 😄

Chef Kezza. I’m still undecided if I like these veggie burgers though.

Lots of jobs applied for and now a sexy stir-fry, one of my faves. Boom. #Productive Also hello, it’s been a while. 😍

This week dad has been kind enough to let me use to his laptop from time to time as mine is fucked. Sticking to my plan I have applied for jobs and have written up  some food review to send off to food magazines.

Speaking of laptops,  mine is …well fucked. A trip to the Apple Store confirmed a crashed hard drive. I still can’t believe my MacBook is fucked and I’ve lost everything though. The music is the worst part. I have 13,000 songs, most of which I probably and can’t get back. SO FUCK YOU APPLE. Also cheers for selling me an expensive MacBook Pro, which was dodgy and wiped out it’s whole hard drive.

Oh and it was all going down in CoOp when I went to get some more pads. A possible shop lifter and an old man who’d fallen down in the street. He was helped back up again and seemed to be ok.

This weekend, as I have been missing Australia a lot, So I have have had quite a few Facetime/Facebook video call with Lotty (and occasionally Michelle), which was super nice. 😍 They had a tour of my house, well kind of.

I have also had two very nice Sunday Fundays since being back home.

This essentially means catching up with friends, family time, a very nice bubble bath and some great homemade cooking curtesy of dad. Last week we even managed to fit in the end of Toystory 3 before the kids had to go home.You cannot beat a smashing bubble bath either. I always end up feeling very soft, hair free and smell bloody sexy afterwards I even took my portable DVD player into the bathroom and watched The L-Word. Sadly I was laughing my head off this week and the bloody thing ran out of battery and cut off.

I definitely missed bubble baths in Australia. One of the other things I missed was dad’s amazing mash potato, which was also something I got last week and this time around a roast. Sunday’s are fast becoming my favourite day of the week.

Anyway, that’s all for now folks, I’m sorry for the essay, I’ll work on narrowing shit down I promise.

See you soon.

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Ps I’m going back to blogging tomorrow. #Slacker

And Update: it’s fucking cold. ❄️☃😒😑

 


 


 


 


 


 



 




 


 







Leave a Reply

