The weekly hit and miss list. #6,7 and 8.

CATCH UP: 

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines.

Side note two: I apologise for the lack of blogs on here recently. Last week was my final week in Australia this time around and I made the decision to abandon my blog for the final few days, in favour of making the most of my remaining time in that beautiful country, with my family and friend (Lucy) haha. Also this was written up in time for the Saturday (11/2), but of course, my phone would break on me and I couldn’t get it up in time. So I have decided to include the last three week’s Hit and Miss Lists in one post.

So without further ado:
(Week starting 11/2/17)

Hit:
1| Making the most of time with Lotty.

This one’s bitter sweet.
So for the past five or so weeks I have been back up to Lake A, which is a place that has a piece of my heart, just for one last time to see people and what not before I have to fly back out to the UK for a bit.  So as this week was my final couple of days up here (Monday and Tuesday), the past week or so has been spent just making the most of the limited time I get with people for a bit. Which as I have mentioned above, has been bitter sweet for me, but I have appreciated spending time with people, Lot especially and I feel as if I definitely made the most of the remaining week. So in that sense, it’s number one on my list this week.

2| La La Land| night out at the outdoor cinema with the family and Lucy.

This was a movie that I have wanted to see for a while, and what’s better than spending the night snuggled under the stars on a squishy bean bag with a blanket surrounded by your family and very good friend. Oh and food, lots of food. I think I ate eight potatoes. I lost count. Although I found the movie to be slightly long routed, I loved the scenery, the music, the dances and the story line actually. I can see why it got lots of awards and nominations. It was just a little bit too long for me. Lesley, Sandra and Lauren fell asleep at various points and Lesley even started snoring. 😄 Great night all round though and Ryan Gosling looked great in a tight, sharp suit. 😉

3| Grill’d Burgers.
This was a toss up between the banging breaky that I had on the Saturday with Sandra and Andy and Grill’d Burgers, but I have a feeling the breaky might make the list this week instead. But yes I am a big fan of Grill’d and haven’t been a while, given that my burger buddy went back to the UK for Christmas and I flew up to Lake A and the middle of nowhere for a few weeks. I had two very beautiful burgers this week and Andy and Sandra even treated me to one. I am a big fan of free food.

Miss:
1| Saying see you later to Lotty and Lake A.
Leaving Lake A and the prospect of saying see you later to the people up there who became more like family to me, was, to put it simply, emotionally draining. I am a very sensitive person anyway who generally does tend to not only wear her heart on her sleeve, but also gets attached to people fairly easy, so I especially hate see you laters. Never mind saying goodbye to a place that holds a lot of special memories for me now and that became a home away from home to me. Oh and on top of that, it was incredibly hard to say see you later to someone who’s been a very big part of my Australian adventure. Someone who’s pretty much been with me most days with a few exceptions since April, and someone who has provided me with nine months of laughs, adventures and lots of memories. So yes that’s been tough, especially as I don’t know when I’ll next see her. Not in person anyway. We have both promised each other a lifetime of friendship though, so there’s that.

2| Time in Aus (for now) running out.
This one’s been included in these lists a few times now, but it’s true. Every day is one day closer to me stepping on a plane and leaving Australia for a while, and to be honest. I am dreading going home. I love Australia and I really really x one million don’t want to leave here. Now just now anyway. I know I’ll be back, I just wish I didn’t have to leave here for a while.

3| Time of the month.
So this isn’t ideal timings with every thing, but it has caused me to be far more emotional, or at least openly emotional, for the past week or so. Which has made saying see you later and leaving particularly difficult, or harder than it probably needed to be. My emotions have been all over the place, which has been extra sucky.

******

(Week start 13/2)

Hit:

1| Hanging out with Lucy/Dogs walks.

This week I have had a lot of fun hanging out with Lucy again, just like when I first flew out to Australia, which was a nice way to end full circle of my time out here. I had a lot of fun hanging down on Cottesloe beach a few times, having a dip in the sea (Lucy, not me, I couldn’t. Sadly time of the month) and having lots of our favourite lemon and lime bitters at the pub. We also had a fun day out in Freyo with Krispy Kreme doughnuts for breaky, exploring the prison and lunch. Lucy was also a babe and helped me pack and put final touches on the box I was sending back to the UK, which was nice of her and helped me re-arrange, cut the box down and repack it.  We also had a lot of fun walking the dogs for Sandra and Andy, and trying to train them, including taking them, a few hours before I boarded the plane back to the UK, out on a walk which turned into a two hour adventure in the heat, as we got lost.  The poor dogs ended up dying on the living room floor when we got back. The good news was, though, we didn’t quite get to the stage where we were dragging the dogs along on the floor, so we weren’t too much for them. I will definitely miss hanging out with Lucy for a while that’s for sure. I cannot wait to get my butt out to Australia and do it all over again.

2|Going out for breakfast and the last big final (this time around) Sunday breakfast/brunch at The Carton’s. 

I am a big fan of going out for breakfast, in fact it is one of my favourite past times. As it so happened Australia, in particular Perth, has a variety of amazing breakfast spots, and I have really enjoyed going on a food adventure this past year. This week I have enjoyed going to the John Street Cafe in Cottesloe, which I had been a couple of times during my year out in Australia, but I don’t really think I appreciated it so much. I suppose being in Cottesloe, by the beach, but out of the way, it’s not a stand out spot. Unless of course you sample the food and coffee. Especially as there’s a lot of cafes right on the beach and John Street doesn’t quite have the luxury of having the beach right on its door step, although it’s not too far away. In fact, I loved it so much that I went three times in one week. After Sandra and Andy treated me to a Saturday breakfast there, I introduced Lucy to it’s amazingness on Monday morning and we went one final time with Peter and Pippi on my final morning there. Not only does the food taste amazing, fresh and fairly healthy breakfast foodwise- or seemingly so anyway, it’s ridiculously photogenic too. Seriously when I say it’s instagram worthy I am not exaggerating. I also had a nice and spontaneous breakfast with Peter and Pippi at a different cafe. Peter kindly treated me to breakfast and I chipped in with the drinks.  Another hit for this week is also one final big Sunday breakfast brunch as a family with the dogs around Lesley and Peter’s place. We ate like kings and queens with  waffles, yogurt, fruit, muesli, muffins, eggs and bacon and coffee. Oh and a lack of bubbles with orange juice. That was also a nice full circle moment for me as we had numerous family breakfasts throughout my year in Australia, including one of my first weekends. We also had a dog walk and snuggled up on the sofa for a movie, two other family activities I did a lot whilst Down Under.

3| Lion the movie. 

On Valentines Day (LOL), Lucy and I took a bus over to Innaloo for a trip to the cinema. Actually we only planned it on Valentines Day because it happened to be on a Tuesday, which is cinema Cheap Tuesdays day. I won’t give any spoilers away here, but it was bloody fantastic and I won’t be surprised if it picks up a LOT of awards. Also Dev Patel continues to get hotter and hotter. Based on a true story, Lion is gripping and emotional in all the best ways. Throughout the movie, right from the beginning you are taken on a very moving and beautiful journey, it’s just fantastic. I also loved the camera work, the music, the acting etc, for me, it was the complete package. Also Sunny Pawar is the cutest and most adorable little actor.  Actually it’s funny because that wasn’t the first time  Lucy and I went to the cinema together on Valentines Day. Back in 2014, we went to see The Lego Movie with my Uni housemates Stella and Tuesday. On that day we also had a Mcdonalds, so of course, after we’d finished watched Lion, we went to Maccys. Well it’s always important to keep up traditions. 😉

 

Miss:

1| Packing.

I generally hate packing at the best of times, I find it very stressful. Especially with how strict airports can be. Even though you know you haven’t done anything wrong, or attempted anything illegal, I always get nervous packing for a trip to the airport and actually going through security. Also it was really stressful packing a year’s worth of things into a little suitcase, and bag and hand luggage. Seriously how did I manage to get so much shit this year? I actually had to throw out a lot of stuff in the end, and Sandra and Andy had to hang on to some of my stuff thanks to Cathay Pacific fucking me over at the airport – but that’s a story for another time.
So yes, I hate packing and I hate the fact that packing this time around signalled the end of my best year to date and served as a reminder that I was soon coming crashing down to reality.
2|Saying goodbye/see you later to both my family, friends, dogs and Aus life – for now at least. 

This has propped up a fair few times throughout my blogs, especially recently. But as mentioned multiple times, I hate things coming to an end, I hate accepting that things are over and I hate having to say goodbye/ see you later to people, places and things that I end up growing to love. It doesn’t matter how many times you do it, it never gets any easier. I can easily get attached to people and places, so it’s hard thinking that you might not see them again for a while at least, I know it’s life, but when you get used to seeing people every day over a period of time, it is very weird knowing that things are about to change. So yes, the past few weeks for me, have once again been spent having to say see you later to people and places and I’ve hated it. It was really hard saying see you later to all of my Aussie family and Lucy as I don’t know when I will be back out there. Hopefully it won’t be too long though.

3|Leaving Aus. 

Well it goes without saying, I was beyond gutted to have to leave Australia – the place I had come to know and fell in love with. As much as I was looking forward to seeing mum, dad, the kids and my friends back in England, I was in no rush to leave my Australian dream. No way. I’m already on the countdown for my next trip Down Under.

******

(20/2)
Hit:

1|Seeing the parents for the first time in a year/ catch Ups with people.

As much as I really times a million did not want to leave Australia, I must admit it has been very nice seeing my parents again after a whole year away. I might have been having the time of my life and the adventure of a life time Down Under, but that doesn’t mean that I wasn’t missing my parents. Especially my mum. We are very close, and I have never gone that long without seeing her in my life before. So that was one little perk of being back ‘home’ I suppose. This week I have had a nice time catching up with friends, including my primary school pal Jude, who I have known for well over ten years now, which is crazy, my best friend Livy and my really good friend Abi. To be honest it does feel like I have been in a coma for a year though, because although a lot has changed, being back here, it doesn’t feel like it at the same time.

2|Sunday Roasts at Babbacombe Inn. 

I am a HUGE fan of roast dinners and I am a HUGE fan of the ones over at the Babbacombe Inn. For just under £10 you can get a monster plate full of delicious food, which always tastes delectable and is an absolute winner in my eyes. I am a big fan of their food in general actually, I have never been left disappointed by anything. It was my first full day back in England for a year, so to not only have a perfect Sunday roast dinner – which really hit the spot by the way, but I got to enjoy it over a very nice bottle of rose, and the perfect company which was my primary school pal Jude. We spent the afternoon sat in the warm, laughing, reminiscing and catching up over a perfect roast and cheesecake, it was fantastic. Sundays done right. #SundayFunDay

3| Banging cocktails at Las Iguanas 

Before I flew out to Australia, one of my favourite ways to pass the time and catch up with those special people in my life, was a trip over to Las Iguanas, to have a good old natter and a laugh over a shit load of cheap and delicious cocktails. Despite no shortage of trying, I never really found a place in Australia that could make a decent cocktail, so that was bonus points in my eyes. I had a really lovely time, catching up and laughing with my best friend Livy, over lots of yummy, flavoursome , fruity cocktails and some very nice Mexican food. Always a winner in my eye.

Miss:

1|Broken laptop.

Before I went to Australia my Macbook had started to play up, taking beyond forever to load up, so it was nothing new when I tried to turn it on when I got back after a year. I just assumed the battery needed a re-charge and some love, but a trip to The Apple Store told me that the entire hard drive had crashed and I had lost everything. This has really pissed me off as a laptop that expensive, should not have broken so easy, especially as I barely took it out with me, so it’s not like it’s been bashed around. Also I only had it four years, which is a piss take. Not only is this a hassle, but it will probably be really expensive to replace and given that I am determined to get out to Australia as soon as possible, sharing a laptop with dad is not ideal. The worst part for me though, is losing 13,000 songs off my itunes, a lot of which I cannot get back. I am beyond desperate as it is, to update my ipod with all my new music, I have already been waiting a year to do that. So yeah, Apple I am NOT impressed.

2|Stressed mum.

I love my mum, but she’s really been on my case all week to get a job and what not. It’s been quite a stressful and frustrating time this week for me as a result. I know she’s only doing out of love, but sometimes it’s suffocating. She’s got a lot on her mind at the moment too, so I understand why she’s like it at the moment, I just wish she’d listen to me sometimes. It’s like the time I came back home for a few months after I had graduated University.

3| Missing Aus.

As nice as it’s nice to catch up with the people back ‘home,’ it goes without saying, I really miss Australia, it’s cold and grey here. I miss my freedom that I got out there. I miss the happiness I had by just simply being out there. I miss shopping at Coles. I miss my friends out there, I miss my doggie pals and I miss my family. To be honest I miss the life I had out there and everything with it. I know where I want to be now, it’s nice to be home, but I am ready now to start again. I know I can always come back home. Also I hate feeling cold all the time. I haven’t worn so many layers in a while.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this for the past few weeks. Hopefully my life will still be slightly exciting in one way or another. I know it’s not quite Australia, but I will enjoy every day, I mean after all, life is meant to be enjoyed.
I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Leave a Reply

