Goodbye (for now) and thank you Lake A.

Side note:  At the time this blog post goes live, I will be in the air, on my way back down south to Perth on a three hour plane ride away from the place and some of the people I love, for a while at least. So this blog has been written in advance. I honestly thought it would be easier this way.

Saying goodbye never gets any easier. I have already had to say goodbye once to this place, back in November, when I left the north for the first time since June. That was tough, but it was different. I was flying back with Lotty and I was going to see her again shortly and I knew that I’d be back up before my visa expired. This time I’m going back solo and I don’t know when I’ll be back or I’ll next see the beautiful Kimberly’s or the place I’ve grown to love and to call home from home. Or when I’ll see the people there, the one’s I’d spent about half of my time out here on my working holiday visa with, working together or hanging out or whatnot. You can read my soppy ramblings from the last time I left this place here

I’m going to be honest though, the hardest goodbye will be Lotty, but I always knew that. I think the hardest part about leaving and saying goodbye to Lotty for a while is the fact that, as it stands at least, I have no definite say in when I will next see her and that for me is tough. I have pretty much seen her every day since I met her back at the KV Resort back in April and it will be strange to go back to an everyday life again where I don’t see her. At least for a while.

So yes as you can imagine, it’s tough to leave the place and the people, in a very short amount of time Lake A took my heart, not just in it’s sheer beauty and all round amazingness, but in how it very quickly became home to me. In this place, I found a home. And now I don’t want to have to leave and say goodbye (again).

I know this time around being back up here it isn’t the same as it was, a lot of the people who I worked with none-stop every day during the thriving and very busy dry season, back in well June for me, it technically starts at the end of April/the start of May, through to September/October. Back then there was a lot of faces around the resort, who I worked with. So many different people, all different ages, from all walks of life and it was lovely. Everyone was so great, so warm, so helpful and so lovely. Most left back in September to other places and other countries and I got used to seeing the resort slowly come to a wind down, so it was no surprise to see how different the resort is in the Wet Season when I flew back here out here at the end of December. Less people, less jobs and less hours. Oh and a LOT of waterfalls. But I will still be sad to say goodbye (again), the last time I left, I knew I’d be coming back. For a little bit at least. Now I know I’m coming back, but I don’t know when and I don’t know how long for and that thought alone saddens me and scares me slightly. I wish I had some guarantee of when I could come back and start again. Breathe it all in. Feel at home once more. All I have now is hope, and that comes in abundance. Oh and determination to get everything sorted so I can come back out here and do it all over again.

So like I have found myself saying and writing down rather a lot, this isn’t the end and this certainly is not the last time that I will be back up here. I know that. I don’t know when, but I know I’ll get back up there, and I will keep this goal in mind when I face reality, go back home to the cold, angry UK and have to keep the faith whilst I tirelessly work my ass off to get back out to Australia. I know I can and I will do it though, it’s just a matter of when.

Lake A, over the past few months that I have been up here, you have given me experiences, opportunities, friendships and memories that will last me a life time.
There were times when you put me out of my comfort-zone and I surprised myself in the process, there were times when I’d come home exhausted and soaking wet (from the dishwasher), but feeling very proud of myself for persevering to make the kitchen nice and clean for the next day, long after everybody else had gone home – and waking up to do it all over again, there were days when I learnt lots of valuable skills, especially ones in the kitchen, that I can now use for the rest of my life, and there were days where I’d spend hours laughing with everyone. It was hard work, but ultimately a lot of fun, a learning curve and a load of memories which I will always look back on and smile at. Some day I hope that I will be able to come back and do it all over again.

I washed more dishes then I have probably ever washed in a life time, I learnt how to properly mop a floor, I learnt how to quickly and nicely peel boiled eggs, peel carrots and potatoes and I even ‘cooked’ with an award-winning, famous chef. I prepared food for the boat cruises and even did a little bit of cooking for paying customers – Not bad for someone who was afraid of an oven before I came out here.
I went out on lots of free cruises and fell in love with the freedom of being out on the lake – I even felt at home out on it. I went out on a helicopter for the first time ever in my life, and almost got a boat licence.  I went on lots of adventures and free tours.I saw beautiful, natural places that I could never have expected to see in my life, and captured it all on my camera. I held wild snakes and frogs, and saw all kinds of natural animals out here. And I had some very funny road trips out of the resort, mainly with Lotty, on our days off into town, where we discovered good places to eat and places to waste our money on.

Out here I continued to fall in love with life, adventure and discovering new things, as well as I also continued to grow as a person and I can look back on my time out here, with a smile on my face and with a strong sense of pride that I really did make the most of all the opportunities that presented themselves to me.

Like I said, one day, hopefully in the near, future, I shall be back to do it all again and to fall in love with the place. It’s not goodbye, and it’s not the end, it’s just a see you later Lake A and thank you. In you, I have found a place to call home.

Bring on the next load of adventures real soon.

Love, hugs and pugs,

Keri.

PS I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Charlie and Chantelle Sharpe for not only being a fantastic bosses and an absolute pleasure to work for, but for giving me an opportunity to work up here, in a job that I had no experience in and sticking by me and giving me a chance. And also for allowing me to live up here for five weeks free of charge. You are wonderful people and I am so grateful for everything that you have done for me, and I am glad that I have gotten to meet you both and experienced your wonderful resort. I cannot thank you enough. Honestly, from the bottom of my heart, thank you. I shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Leave a Reply

