The weekly hit and miss list. #4

Hey there,

So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading multiple blogs where people state their weekly favourites for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own weekly summaries for a while. I started one draft in November, which actually didn’t work out with timings and stuff and never got finished or posted. Which is probably a good thing given how late in the year I was trying to start something. As it’s now 2017, I’m going to give this one a real good crack.

Now because I have been pretty much doing weekly summaries of my time in Australia on my other blog, I’ve decided that it’s the kind of thing which would work better on this blog. It’s a work in progress so please bare with me.

I have decided to narrow it down into three things that I am finding to be a hit this week and three things which are a miss this week, just like the kind of things you often find in magazines.
Anyway enough ramblings. Here are my weekly favourite and good things that I have been up to, or discovered or just really enjoyed this week and the not so good stuff.

 

Hit:

 

1| Boats and being back out on the lake again.

Like I wrote out on my other blog here in more detail, this week I went back out on a boat on the lake again and it was bloody wonderful. I feel so at home out on a boat, zipping across water, spray in my face, wind in my hair and the sense of freedom everywhere. Being back out on the lake was a definite highlight of the week for me.

2| Words/quotes.

I have always loved words and their ability, as well as the imagination of the writer behind the text, to simply and effortlessly form such beautiful imagery, and evoke an understanding in the reader. Recently, and I’m still not too sure why, I have felt a need for words, just words, in their simplest form, and have spent a lot of time getting lost in the quotes of others and it’s been liberating and inspiring to say the least.

3| Five Seeds Cider.

When I flew out to Australia I didn’t think their ciders were as good as the one’s we have back home, although I did find that I do like Five Seeds. Last week I bought some more Apple and Pear ones from town and have really enjoyed sipping on the odd bottle in the evening.

 

Miss.

1| My iPhone.

For me, it’s not about having the latest technology, although I have had an iPhone for about six years now, when the four was the latest one on the scene.
I had a iPhone 5S, which my mum had updated for me last September after I had accidentally put my 5C in a coma. Although I didn’t want to be ungrateful at the time, because I am fortunate to be able to have a nice smart phone, I had told my mum that I was holding out for the next month for the new one, just because I knew that the 5S was already two years old, and I would have to have it for two years on a contract, meaning that I probably would be forced to upgrade, as I know Apple, they don’t give a monkey’s arse about their customer’s and price them out at every opportunity.
Which is starting to happen to be now. My phone is being incredibly lame this week and has annoyed me multiple times now. All the apps keep logging me out, which means I can’t turn my phone off without it resetting again and logging me out of everything, again. As well as freezing a lot. So yes, my iPhone is making the list this week.

2| Knowing that my time at Lake A and in Australia in general (for now) is slowly ending…

I am one sentimental fucker, and every day I have noticed that I am one day closer to hopping on a plane and heading back down south,and then one day closer to actually leaving Australia and flying back to miserable and cold England and honestly, I really don’t want to leave. I hate the feeling of knowing that this wonderful dream is slowly coming to an end and that I have to face reality.

3| Not being able to sleep.

I am no stranger to this as my sleeping pattern has been messed up ever since my Sixth Form and University days. But saying that, recently it seems to have gotten worse, I cannot for the life of me, shut my brain off and fall asleep at a reasonable time and it sucks. That’s even if I go to bed fairly early and switch my phone off so I can’t be distracted. I even cut caffeine out of my system before 3pm. I also weirdly keep waking up to a half sleep, thinking that I’m choking. So yes, not fun in the slightest.

So there you have it, three things I’m digging and three things I’m not digging this week.

I’m planning on scheduling a weekly hit and miss list every Saturday. Let’s see how long this lasts for.

See you next Saturday. 😉

Love, hugs and pugs.

Keri.

Leave a Reply

