Sunday Summaries| Week Two and Three. ( A couple of weeks into 2017 and I have already failed to get last week’s post up in time!) Losing and gaining family members, lots of waterfalls, discovering, re-discovering and falling in love with old music and getting stranded.

…In my defense though, I am trying to get two of these up, once a week on a Sunday on different blogs AND make them slightly different. It’s harder than you think. 😛

As mentioned in the header for this post, as I suck at timings, this post will cover the previous couple of weeks. This post covers from the 9th-22nd Jan 2017.

****

 

Hey there,
So just to start off, I’ve been a big fan of reading lots of blog features where people talk about their week and what they’ve been up to for some time now and I’ve been wanting to start my own Sunday summaries on this blog for a while now a

Now because I have been pretty much doing weekly summaries of my time in Australia on my other blog here, since I flew out to Australia last February, I’m trying to rack my brain as to how I can make this work on both blogs (for the next couple of months whilst I’m still out here), without being overly similar or repetitive. So like I wrote on my previous Sunday Summaries post, once again this blog post shall be more of a wing it situation and we’ll see where I can go from here.

 

Sunday Summary |Two and Three. 

The past couple of weeks has mainly consisted of me exploring, taking a fair few photographs, hunting for waterfalls, chilling out a lot, cooking, getting into new TV shows, swimming and catching up with people. I was hoping to get a few hours of work in up here, but sadly I’m not really needed with there already being enough staff. Also the resort is very quiet with it being the wet season so I wouldn’t have much work anyway. Just for the record, I shall be blogging more on my exploring adventures at a later date, so watch this space.

Sadly I wrote on my previous post that I was feeling really inspired to write, well the past week or so I must admit, that motivation has began to slightly deteriorate, which sucks. That also applies to waking up early, working-out and eating breakfast. I’d like to blame my period and also the fact that I haven’t been sleeping overly great over the past couple of nights for the lack of inspiration or dedication. However, I have had some inspiration today to get some blogs written up and scheduled for the next few weeks, so all is not lost. Also I am still drinking a lot of water, which is good.

One morning I work up to a gutting email, and found out that currently no Aussie states are hiring Journalists, so I’m re-deciding my options, AGAIN! This whole Aussie migration plan thing is so tough. 😁😔 I’ll get there though. I just have to access my options again. I’m thinking of looking into studying something else which would match the sort of job criteria that Australia is looking for. It doesn’t hurt to be more qualified and rounded anyway. I was also thinking of doing some more freelancing in my free time and maybe look into an extra PR & some kind of social media and marketing qualification. They all go into my degree anyway, but it wouldn’t hurt to give myself more options. Anything to really boost my chances of living more permanently in Aus. I can do this. I’ll look into this more when I get home though, probably.

I have also networked with a Journalist on Twitter who works for Stoke City this week. He is interested in moving to Australia and contacted me for some advice. I could possibly do some work experience with the club when I’m back in England. That’s exciting. I have also done some more research into moving out here on a more permanent basis. It won’t be easy, but the fire still burns. I am determined that one day I shall be out here with all the time in the world.

Over the past couple of weeks, Lot and I kind of stopped watching American Horror Story, which was pooey, as Rayman on the Wii kind of took over our afternoons when Lotty was on a work break and when she finished up for the day she was too tired, so it kind of got put on the back burner. However, we’re now five episodes into season 3, which isn’t too shabby considering before our ‘break,’ we’d only gotten to episode three of season two.

Once again, it’s been an interesting couple of week results wise with my football team Liverpool. We had a frustrating draw with our most ‘hated’ rivals Man United, who I despise by the way. The annoying thing was, we’d scored early on into the game, and thrown away two points, by allowing them to score an offside goal right in the 82nd minute. I also missed out on a free 30 minute massage off Lotty, if we’d won the game. We won the third round replay game against Plymouth, 1-0, which wasn’t the best scoreline. At least we’re through though and most of our big guns got a rest. Finally we lost yesterday to Swansea, which is shocking and I’m still majorly pissed off with the boys. It looks like we’ve hit our dodgy patch for this season. Hopefully it won’t effect us too much and we can start getting back to winning ways again, because after such a great start, I’d hate to see us throw it all away at the crucial business end of the season.

This week Lotty and I have continued to take turns cooking dinner for each other, which has been really nice. I definitely feel as if I’m getting much more confident at cooking, which is a nice feeling.  It’s also nice to kick back a the end of the day, eat a good sized meal and watch a film or TV show.

It’s also been a couple of weeks for discovering new music and re-discovering and falling in love with old music. During a road trip into town with Ruth one morning, I discovered this guy called Sam Hunt, after Ruth had blasted his album out loud, whilst we trundled our way down all these Outback roads, whilst the rain lashed hard against the windows. I ended up downloading a couple of tracks off his album when I got home and they’ve been on repeat ever since. I also downloaded this fantastic 50 track album of acoustic songs off iTunes, which has also been on repeat ever since, Stevie Nix’s Edge of Seventeen, which is a classic by the way and Lady Gaga’s Million Reasons.

Unfortunately my period came the other day, so I haven’t been able to go swimming for a few days, I did however, have a funny moment the last time I went when I accidentally drenched this random French/German backpacker’s phone trying to drown a fly. In my defense though, he shouldn’t have left it right on the edge of the pool anyway. Lotty and I ended up doing a runner home before they noticed. Shame, I was enjoying playing with my new inflatable ball. I can’t wait now for my period to finish up so I can get my arse back in the pool again.

Lotty and I have watched a lot of new movies as well as ones that we haven’t seen in a while over the past couple of weeks. We have watched:

  • The Light Between The Ocean – Which dragged ON!!! Lotty fell asleep so I ended up watching The Girl On The Train instead. It’s a shame really, that was one film that I really wanted to watch.
  • The new Bridget Jones’ Baby film. I had seen it before with Sandra and Andy, but Lotty hadn’t. By the way, Lotty, being the fan girl that she is, particularly enjoyed Ed Sheeran’s little cameo.
  • The Danish Girl, which is something I had been wanting to watch for a while. Eddie Redmayne is such a phenomenal actor. Of course we never quite finished it as Lotty fell asleep again.
  • One afternoon I watched the movie Paper Towns, which is pretty shit.  Shame! I have been wanting to watch it for a while, as I really enjoyed the book and the movie never came to my home town at the time of it’s release. I had heard mixed reviews, but I was still excited to see it. It definitely did disappoint. Never mind at least I’ve seen it now.
  • I watched The One Direction Movie one day, because I am clearly super cool.
  • I made Lotty watch Beyoncé’s – Life Is But A Dream documentary because she needed educating. 😉 If I have to watch a shit load of B’Witched videos, she can get her Beyoncé on with me lol. Also I hadn’t seen it in years. Holy fuck I love Beyoncé. What a woman! I ended up feeling very inspired afterwards.
  • Sausage Party – Blimey that movie is super weird. Lotty and I both said what the hell are we watching multiple times during the duration of the film. It was funny, but so weird.
  • I watched Eddie the Eagle, which is one of those movies that I had wanted to watch for a while. I don’t know why I’d never heard of that guy before. It was based on a true story. It was really good actually.
  • I made Lotty watch Zootopia and she actually enjoyed it. 😉
  • and The Shallows – Britt Lively really does have legs for days haha. I’m not a fan of horror movies, but I have always made an exception for shark ones, because they’re usually really unrealistic if you know your shark facts. There’s no way that, the shark would have stalked her for as long as it did. Sharks are smart, they would have gone after something else. Also humans aren’t the usual shark prey, which is why people usually just get bitten and not eaten. I enjoyed it though, it was enjoyable.

One day Lotty and I got stranded in town after venturing out of the resort to stock up on some food. It turned out to be quite the adventure. With it being the wet season out here, occasionally you need a four wheel drive to get in and out of the resort with the size of the water on the road. That’s if it’s accessible. Sometimes not even a four-wheeler can get you through. We ended up staying at a hotel, in an already discounted room, with extra discount on top for working at Lake A, having some really nice pub grub and watching The Full Monty, which is a film I don’t think I’ve seen before. It was really good by the way. We even successfully made it back to Lake A the next morning, with our mountain of food from Coles, still completely edible.

 

The next week Lotty and I took another risk, trying to successfully get in and out of town to get some more supplies (food). This time though we came prepared with a pre-packed over night bag just in case we got stranded again. In the end though we only made it half way down the road anyway before had to we turn around and head back home, due to a rather large puddle. In the end we spent the afternoon chasing waterfalls in the rocks instead, capturing the moody skies and heavy rainfall on my camera, which is a much more fun way to pass the time.
We also didn’t starve as a few days later, Matty, Ruth, Lotty and myself borrowed one of the tour’s car, and took a very windy, splashy and bumpy ride into town and brought back a tonne of food so happy days.

As I mentioned at the start of the blog, I’d had a few fun adventures this week, which I shall blog up in more details on another day (I have a post idea of this in mind). As I mentioned in the above paragraph, Lotty and I spent one afternoon chasing waterfalls in the rocks, capturing the moody skies and heavy rainfall on my camera. I also spent one afternoon hiking and exploring a load of rocks and caves with Matty and Ruth, which was good fun and I got some decent shots on my camera – total bonus! Also I definitely was not wearing the correct shoes for such activities, so I spent most of my time worried about miss placing my footing and tumbling of the cliff or accidentally stamping on a deadly snake and subsequently getting bitten as a result of poor judgement. of course, neither happened and I had a nice afternoon exploring – which is one of my favourite things to do. I was a sweaty mess by the end and my thighs burned the next day after I sprinted back up the hill, but it was so worth it! I also spent one morning crossing rivers – and trying not to get swept away and admiring waterfalls, which was glorious with Matty. Unfortunately I was a nonce who didn’t bother with sunscreen and spent the rest of the day feeling the heat, with sunburn and a raging head ache. Matty and I also did more exploring one evening, which included me badly unlocking gates – and Matty shaking his head at me a lot, a river and crocs, Swinging Bed – I finally made it up there, a lot of banter and honesty, lots of great photography opportunities and ending the day watching the most beautiful and radiant sunset over the lake.

This week I have lost and gained family members. I was incredibly sad to hear from my mum that my Grandpa Pete had passed away, he really was a wonderful and kind-hearted soul with a beautiful and warm heart, who was always generous and giving to everyone. I also connected with my older half sister Paula, who actually had no idea of my existence until now haha.

Anyway, that’s all for now folks. I am definitely going to have to try harder to schedule these weekly summaries, especially as I’m currently attempting to write two different ones on two separate blogs.

Hopefully the next one, will be posted up in time. Keep an eye out for up-coming blogs on here within the next few days or so. I’m determined to be more time organised.

Anyway, bye for now.

Love, hugs and pugs

Keri.

One thought on “Sunday Summaries| Week Two and Three. ( A couple of weeks into 2017 and I have already failed to get last week’s post up in time!) Losing and gaining family members, lots of waterfalls, discovering, re-discovering and falling in love with old music and getting stranded.

  1. Pingback: Keri’s most recent week in the Land Down Under. – Keri's Adventures In Kangaroo Land

Leave a Reply

