Throw Back to a year ago today when KULFC trained with Chelsea Ladies as part of International Women’s Day.

Long story short, I won a national competition for my University football team to train with Chelsea Ladies FC. Actually it was funny because I entered the competition through a great company called Gazprom, last minute, wrote the cheesiest thing I have ever written in my life and some how got a phone call a few days later letting me know that I’d won. πŸ˜„ I don’t even know what I wrote, but it must not have been too shabby as a few days later we found ourselves down at Cobham – Chelsea FC’s training ground.
So yes on Saturday 7th March 2015, fifteen of us, sixteen of us were supposed to be there, but unsurprisingly one was a none turn up, were picked up by a private luxury taxi and taken to the training ground. Amazing!
 

On route to the ground.
 

We then were given bags with Chelsea things in, given that I’m a Liverpool fan, it was slightly wasted on me, but I definitely appreciated the gesture. We collectively as a team decided to wear the Chelsea FC Gazprom top to show our appreciation to Gazprom and the club for giving us such a fantastic opportunity and a special day in general. It’s funny actually because most of the girls there supported other teams, we had Arsenal fans, Man United, Liverpool etc…
 

The only time most of us will wear a Chelsea top. πŸ˜„
 

As a massive Liverpool fan, that was the first and last ever time I will willingly wear a Chelsea shirt – unless of course I’d been lucky enough to get signed by them, but that would never happen of course!

As Liverpool fans, you’d never see Holly and I wearing a Chelsea top…πŸ˜„

I was very impressed with myself that I got away with wearing Liverpool shorts. 

I got my Liverpool shorts on Skysports News. Genius. 😌
 

We then got to watch them train, before we had a question and answer session with the manager Emma Hayes and the players, photographs, and then we had our own training session with some of the coaches before the players joined in. Awesome. 

    

  

I had to do a few interviews, I knew some of the media was there as I’d been told, but what I didn’t find out until much later on in the day that we’d be featuring on Skysports News the next day. Kayleigh, who I chose to be interviewed with, also found it hilarious. I also found it very funny that my Liverpool shorts got in the shot. Genius if you ask me! 

  
Actually Kayleigh gave a better interview than me, but that was because I gave a good one, but was then told by the camera man that I did great but I had to do it again because the reporter got in the shot. That’s when I over thought my answer and the end result, as awesome as it was, wasn’t as good as it probably could have been. 

Actually the reporter was Gabby Logan, who is a well known Skysports presenter, who does a lot of rugby interviews. (I think anyway!) I didn’t mention that I was a third year Journalism student at the time, but I was secretly questioning her interview techniques. For example, she didn’t ask me my name or Kayleigh’s for that matter – big mistake, or where we were from, that’s one of the first things you do when conducting an interview. So on Skysports we were referred to ‘a university sports team’ as opposed to Kingston University. Also they didn’t have our names on the screen, so anyone watching that would have been like so, who’s she? Irrelevant. Also I could tell whilst she was interviewing me that she hadn’t really done her research properly. But ah well I have no complaints. It was such a fantastic opportunity, who cares if it’s bad Journalism?

  
  

I also did an interview for The Offside Pod with a lovely lady called Jen Oldfield, who was kind enough to help me out with my dissertation research as I was really struggling at that point, as well as point me in the direction of other helpful journalists. So yeah not only did I have the best day ever, but I also had the opportunity to network, which was well needed at the time believe me! 

  

But yes all in all a great day, the club, Emma Hayes, the players, Gazprom etc, were fantastic with us and even a year on I still consider it the best achievement I managed in 2015, and I graduated from Uni that year. Ok getting my face on Skysports News for 24 hours maybe isn’t quite as brilliant as graduating University with a BA Hons degree, but it’s pretty damn close. I’d say the Chelsea Training day for me though was my best day/moment of 2015 and I’d had a pretty great year and even a year on I look back at the whole day with the biggest smile on my face. It’s safe to say that it could be one of the best days of my life so far.

  
The only downside was, my favourite player Eniola Aluko was away in Cyprus with England Ladies at the time so I didn’t get the chance to kick her ass on the training pitch. Still a month later, a couple of the girls and I popped over to Wheatsheaf Park – Staines, Chelsea Ladies home ground to watch their home game to Arsenal Ladies using the free ticket that we got from the club and Gazprom, and I met her then, as well as getting to see her play. That was pretty awesome. Actually that day we got to see the PFA Women’s player’s player of the year Ji So-Yun and I got a photo with her too. I also got a ‘selfie’ with Arsenal Ladies and I got to see one of my all time favourite players Rachel Yankey play so it was all in all an amazing night and once again that was all thanks to Chelsea Ladies and Gazprom. 

   
         

I’m in Australia now, but when I’m back in London next year, I’m definitely going to become an avid Chelsea Ladies fan and watch them a lot as I really enjoyed the experience and I now have a lot of love for that club. Plus it was good to see the women player better then the men. πŸ™‚
  
Once again thank you so much to Gazprom, Chelsea Ladies FC and everyone else involved in making that day one of the greatest days of my life and thank you for being brilliant with us. I’m always going to look back on the 7/3/15 with fond memories thinking I can’t believe I got to do that.

Anyway, that’s all for now folks!

Love, hug and pugs.

Keri. 
Ps check us out on Chelsea FC’s official website. Boom! http://www.chelseafc.com/news/latest-news/2015/03/ladies-host-winners-to-mark-international-womens-day.html

  

Leave a Reply

